John Kosich vs. John Kasich

may-0012From 2010:  If the past ten years or so are any indication the next four should be interesting.   Ohio’s new Governor is Republican John Kasich while here in the northeast part of the state John Kosich (me) gets ready to cover his administration.

For the record there is no relation other than the fact that we share a similar Croatian background.

Over the last six or seven years I’ve enjoyed the number of viewer e-mails I’d occassionally get from folks who would tell me how much they enjoyed watching me on Fox.

This was especially true when John Kasich would guest host for Bill O’Reilly on the O’Reilly Factor.  And lest you think it’s just viewers who get confused it’s not, one day I get a call from my Mom, she says “did you fill in for Bill O’Reilly on Fox last night?” I said no.  She said Mrs. Kelly (whose known me since birth) said she watched you and you did great.  (Well at least I didn’t bomb.)

A similar tale happened to my sister-in-law who had a cousin in Connecticut call all excited telling her to turn on the TV I was subbing for O’Reilly.

It’s not just e-mails either I was out in Madison a year or two back waiting for a meeting to start and I could kind of hear two older guys talking low behind me.  “is it him?”  Finally one of them said to me “did you use to be a Senator?”  I said it’s actually Congressman and no I’m not him.

When he announced he was running for Governor I started getting similar comments. A colleague at a competing station came up to me in April when Kasich’s name first started being mentioned and said “are you running for office?”  I politely explained the story.  She said her hairdresser is convinced it’s you and she’s going to vote for you.

Forget about votes, maybe I should start accepting campaign contributions.

4 Responses to “John Kosich vs. John Kasich”

  1. lifestartsnow Says:

    haha, go get those contributions! or fill in as double. i think you look very much alike (actually, i thought it’s you and your senior pic from high school). didn’t see the “a” “o” difference.

    do you like the other guy? you could actually give him hell if you wanted to 😉

    franzi

  2. John Kasich Says:

    Thanks for the hospitality today – I enjoyed it.

  3. John Kosich vs. John Kasich | Right Ohio Says:

    […] I just stumbled across this blog, and this post is too funny! […]

  4. melissa Says:

    This was driving me nuts… I lived in the Wilkes-BArre/Scranton market for awhile and was familiar with the reporter, then when I moved to a Cleveland suburb I learned about the politician who not only has *almost* the same name, they even look and kinda sound shockingly alike!

Leave a Reply

