Celebrating the Accordion! (Seriously)

Ask me to pick one story over the last 20 years that stood out among the rest and I’d make a strong case for this one shot in Buffalo celebrating of all things, the accoridon.

Take a look.

I loved this story because I certainly did not anticipate meeting someone like Edwin when I set out to do it, he was enough to carry the story alone.

 Then when I borrowed one of his accoridons to talk with people I did so thinking that I’ll approach people with a big accordion around my neck, ask them to guess which musical instrument we’re celebrating this month, then be totally surprised when they all guess correctly the accordion.  

The only problem?  No one got it, no one put two and two together.  ABC’s World News This Morning ran the story as a kicker which prompted Barry Mitchell (he of World News Polka fame) to send along a… well… interesting autographed photo which if I can find…and am allowed to post… I will.

Leave a Reply

